четверг, 26 марта 2009 г.

Postcards from Finland

The Moomins are the central characters in a series of books and a comic strip by Finnish illustrator and writer Tove Jansson, originally published in Swedish by Schildts (and later in Finnish by WSOY) in Finland. They are a family of trolls who are white, round and furry in appearance, with large snouts that make them resemble hippopotamuses. The carefree and adventurous family live in their house in Moominvalley, in the forests of Finland, though in the past their temporary residences have included a lighthouse and a theatre. They have many adventures along with their various friends.

In all, nine books were released in the series, with five picture books and a comic strip also written by Jansson being released between 1945 and 1993.

The Moomins have since been the basis for numerous television series, films and even a theme park in Finland.

The books in the series, in order, are:

1. The Moomins and the Great Flood (Originally: Småtrollen och den stora översvämningen) - 1945.
2. Comet in Moominland, Some editions: The Happy Moomins - (Originally: Kometjakten/Kometen kommer) - 1946.
3. Finn Family Moomintroll (Originally: Trollkarlens hatt) - 1948.
4. The Exploits of Moominpappa, Some editions: Moominpappa's Memoirs (Originally: Muminpappans bravader/Muminpappans memoarer) - 1950.
5. Moominsummer Madness (Originally: Farlig midsommar) - 1954.
6. Moominland Midwinter (Originally: Trollvinter) - 1957.
7. Tales from Moominvalley (Originally: Det osynliga barnet) - 1962 (Short stories).
8. Moominpappa at Sea (Originally: Pappan och havet) - 1965.
9. Moominvalley in November (Originally: Sent i november) - 1970 (In which the Moomin family is absent).

The first book, known in English as The Moomins and the Great Flood (Originally: Småtrollen och den stora översvämningen) was finally published in English in 2005 (though only in Finland).

There are also five Moomin picture books by Tove Jansson:

1. The Book about Moomin, Mymble and Little My (Originally: Hur gick det sen) - 1952.
2. Who Will Comfort Toffle? (Originally: Vem ska trösta knyttet) - 1960.
3. The Dangerous Journey (Originally: Den farliga resan) - 1977.
4. An Unwanted Guest (Originally: Skurken i Muminhuset) - 1980 (No English translation published).
5. Songs from Moominvalley (Originally: Visor från Mumindalen) - 1993 (No English translation published).

The books and comic strips have been translated from their original Swedish and English into many languages.

Official Finnish Moomin Website

Комментариев нет:

Отправить комментарий